The Fleet Club ~ Battle of the Bands 1967

Look at what we stumbled upon!

~ courtesy Mr. Farooq Fatah of ‘the’ Fatah Brothers

The original flyer of  ‘A Pop Music Concert’ that was later known as ‘The Battle of the Bands’ held at Fleet Club in 1967.  Mr. Farooq Fatah distinctly remembers that the event was recorded backstage so we are hoping to find a copy of that recording somewhere.

Would anyone happen to know the organizers of the event??  (Names are listed on the flyer)  If so, please do get in touch with us right away!

Fleet Club Karachi 1967

Message from Khawer Jamal ~

I am Khawer Jamal – My brother Wajid Kamal was the brainchild of this – along with my friends Mahmoud Baig of Alishaan, Farooq Oosman of Oosman Bros, and Tayib Salim PIA.  Them were the days – I was there.

I sold many tickets for this concert in School (Habib School).  Amin Lakhani and Azim Lakhani were close friends of my brother Wajid and cousin Rehan Mirza.  Later on another concert was arranged by my Brother at Nasreem Room, Intercontinental. Mahmud Sipra (Legend) was the MC.  The Four Thoughts stole the show in that one.

My Band fellow in Habib School (Umeed Ansari) was in it, I think. TeeM (Tariq Mirza) was there also.

I think Tayib Salim would be the guy to ask for recordings.

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Fleet Club ~ Battle of the Bands 1967

  1. I knew Pervez Ayub, also known as ‘Mod’ he was I think the main organizer,
    he passed away few years back. Also knew his brother Jawed Mod who unfortunately
    passed away sometime back too. When I first came to the US, I was travelling with J-Mod.
    Good to see the flyer though…I wish I had saved the card of the event…I think
    the tickets were Rs/5…enjoyed the show tremendously…The Bugs, Thunders and others.
    Good early Karachi rock ‘n roll memories…
    TEE-M (Tariq)

    • Dear Mr. Lakhani,
      By any chance are you the original band member of the ‘Thunders’. If so, we would be so happy to hear from you. We have an active facebook group that has started recording all the old bands of Karachi i.e. from pre-partition on wards at https://www.facebook.com/groups/lmkonline/

      We are therefore, requesting musicians to provide information or short blurbs about their bands/ experience of live entertainment etc. so that we can add here on lmkonline.
      Would you like to share some material so that we can upload here.
      Looking forward to hearing from you.

      Also may I add Shams Tabraiz Muzzaffar is in the process of doing a documentary and is in Karachi these days. His profile address on facebook is as follows:
      https://www.facebook.com/shamstabraiz.muzaffar
      He would be so thrilled to hear from you.

      Warm Regards,
      Lynette Dias Gouveia

  2. I am Khawer Jamal – My brother Wajid Kamal was the brainchild of this – along with my friends Mahmoud Baig of Alishaan, Farooq Oosman of Oosman Bros, and Tayib Salim PIA. Them were the days – I was there. I sold many tickets for this concert in School (Habib School). Amin Lakhani and Azim Lakhani were close friends of my brother Wajid and cousin Rehan Mirza. Later on another concert was arranged by my Brother at Nasreem Room, Intercontinental. Mahmud Sipra (Legend) was the MC. The Four Thoughts stole the show in that one. My Band fellow in Habib School (Umeed Ansari) was in it, I think. TM was there also.

    I think Tayib Salim would be the guy to ask for recordings.

Leave a Reply

