It’s not over yet! ~ by Maxwell Dias

Maxwell Dias

© Legendary Musicians of Karachi

Category ~ Musician Profile

I was born on March 12, 1954 in Chittagong, Bangladesh (at that time it was East Pakistan).  My parents relocated to Karachi in 1960 when I was just four.  My initial education was in St. Philomena’s school which is now Christ the King school.  Thereafter I went to St. Paul’s school and in the year 1966 my parents with all children visited East Pakistan (now Bangladesh) and returned to Karachi leaving me behind as I wanted to study in St. Placid’s High school.  Here I studied from class VI to class X but did not do the board exam in Chittagong as there was trouble brewing and my parents wanted me to come back to Karachi before any incident could take place.  I came back to Karachi in 1970 and Pakistan split up in 1971 and East Pakistan (where I was born) was renamed Bangladesh.

My father Terrence Santan Dias (famously known as Sunny Dias) was a very good trumpeter. He could read music which he was taught at his school in Goa. Many times I would watch him writing music by simply humming a tune.  When I was about 10 years old he wanted me to play the clarinet for which I took classes from the great Mr. Alex Rodrigues (late).   I could blow the clarinet quite beautifully I must say in those days.  I also had an intricate chart which my dad purchased from Anthony Couthino and Co. booksellers from which I learnt to play some of the highest notes possible in the clarinet which few musicians knew.  However, playing the clarinet did not appeal to me so I stopped.  I was more interested in learning how to play the guitar.

A very good friend from my school, Dean Heppolette had an old Wood & Tone Pakistani guitar.  I borrowed that guitar from him and started teaching myself how to play chords by requesting some of the musicians in Karachi including my uncle Errol D’Sanges (who had just come in from Bangladesh) to show me some of the chords, positions;  this was in the year 1972.  The first song that I learnt to play was House of the Rising Sun by the Animals and I would keep strumming this song almost every day not playing anything else.  My father got absolutely fed up listening to the same strumming and one fine day he told me “you have to learn to play melody, what you are doing is worthless!”.   “Melody?” I asked him: “What does that mean?  He said “Melody ta ta ta ta ta ta ta” (huming the tune of House of the rising Sun).  I realized then that he was encouraging me to start playing lead instead of rhythm.

Whilst I was still at the learning stages, a heart wrenching tragedy took place in our family.  My mother passed away and my father was sent as a refugee back to Bangladesh.  From there he went to India and I have just recently learned that he passed away a few years ago.  But we do not know which part of India he is buried.

The first band I played with was the Petrao Brothers and Francis on bass at the Merchant Navy Club.  We had a wonderful time there, met many foreign sailors, witnessed a horrific brawl between Indonesian and Greek sailors.  We would walk back from the Merchant Navy Club in Queens Road to Saddar every night.  Never afraid to get mugged in those days, it was never even thought of.

After that I joined the Surfers in Sindh Club, played with Bunti (now in Australia), Kenny Fialho on drums, Michael and John Rodrigues (I think), but they were very good musicians and I was the worst of the lot. When these guys left Pakistan, I took over the Sindh Club contract and invited Jeffery Bestewitch to join my band.

We played for a while and then the band broke up and after the Incrowd’s original band disbanded (due to the death of Ivan Menezes) John Rodrigues (Michael Rodrigues’ brother) and myself  joined Edgar Saville, Norman and his brother Sydney.

It was in this band when I started to explore and enhance my skills at playing lead; took a lot of tips from foreign musicians who were visiting Karachi and also from our legendary (Iggy) Egan Fernandes (late).  We played at Midway House (KLM Hotel near the airport).

I was extremely fascinated by Carlos Santana and always tried to emulate his style.  In the beginning of my music career, I was impressed by the Beatles and in later years David Gilmour of Pink Floyd, Eric Clapton, Mark Knopfler and the Eagles.

From 1976 to 1980, for sometime I played with Iggy,  Either he would be on bass and I on lead or he would play lead and I would play bass.  We played with the Fatah Brothers and singers Bobby and David Fredrick.  We played at 3 Aces, Horseshoe and 2001 (a discotheque at Beach Luxury Hotel).

Keynotes II

In 1980 I joined the Keynotes’ only band member left in Karachi (the rest emigrated from Karachi) Hilary Furtado and together we formed Keynotes (II) and played for six years.  This was definitely the peak of my career as a musician.  We learnt, we practiced and played good professional music.  The band consisted of Hilary Furtado, his brother Nobby Furtado, Trevor D’Mello, Ainsley Highfield and William JosephAlan Vanderloven and David Joseph were the replacements of Trevor D’Mello and William Joseph respectively.  Allan Smith and Neil Araujo later joined the band.

After that I played with Black Jacks and Radiation; With Black Jacks we played at the Holiday Inn (now Regent Plaza) and with Radiation at the Village Restaurant (near Metropole).

Then I joined Hilary Furtado again and we started playing at various hotels, Avari, Marriott, then Sheraton.  A three piece with auto rhythm keyboard, guitar and saxophone; not quite the same as a full fledged live band that I was used too.  However, during this time I started playing eastern music and learned about eastern raags.

A musician never wants to stop playing music and to this day I still perform at live gigs with some very talented young and old or as I would prefer to call them veteran musicians.  We play music of the 60s 70s and 80s.    Thanks to a special gentleman, musician and pilot, Captain Akeel Akhter who is a lover of music, has constructed a stage at his residence where we perform twice or thrice a month for distinguished guests and also at various parties at the Boat Club, Sindh Club, Yacht Club, etc.

We also practice at his place using all utilities and facilities without any charges.  He also performs with us at all our gigs and God bless him for all his support and generosity.

The line up for our current band ~ Akeel Akhtar (Capt) (vocalist/lead), Maxwell Dias (vocalist/lead), Hilary Rodrigues (vocalist/ saxophone), Neil Araujo (bass), Lenny Massey (keyboard) and Giles Goveas (Drums)

I would like to promote the young musicians of our band.  Giles Goveas is a good drummer and the son of the great Alan Goveas and Lenny Massey is a talented young piano teacher at NAPA.   I am blessed that at my age I’m still able to do what I love doing and that is music.

=====================================================


9 thoughts on “It’s not over yet! ~ by Maxwell Dias

  1. Dear Maxwell, I read your profile, very interesting, I loved the title “it’s not over yet!”, now I see where Lynette gets all her talent from, her daddy. Glad you still follow your passion, keep going, good stuff.

    • Thanks brothers, very kind of you to send me this note. Humbly obliged. Heard your music. You guys rock man!! I can still remember the first time I heard you guys at the Catholic Colony Jam and Saleem Jadoon was also singing…That was the first time I heard live music…and remember most of the songs you did but the one that got me was ‘She came into the bathroom window’.

  2. Dear Max, This is Azmut Butt from Hong Kong. I started as a drummer with the forethoughts but soon joined the THUNDERS as a lead singer. The first performence was in 1967 at The Naval Fleet Club in the first ever western music concert ever in Pakistan. I have been in Hong Kong since 1972 living a semi retired life but music is still my life and like you said its not over yet. It will be over only on the day I depart from this world. All the original Keynotes and The Incrowd were my friends. If you are in touch with any of them please put me in line.
    Keep in touch and I will make sure to see you on my next trip to Karachi.

    • Dear Azmat,
      So nice of you to send this lovely MSG. I would definitely love to meet you when you come to Karachi. The only two people I know from original keynotes and InCrowd are Norman and Hilary. The rest have migrated some to other countries and some to heaven…where we all have to go one day…I am on a holiday these days in Doha where my daughter Lynette creator of LMK is staying. When I go back home will definitely keep in touch with you.

  3. That’s interesting, all your friends are on FB as well, we were from the colony 2, as well, sounds very familiar,

  4. Hi. I needed to drop you a fast observe to express
    my thanks. Ive been following your blog for a month
    or so and have picked up a ton of excellent information and enjoyed the
    strategy youve structured your site. I’m making an attempt to run my very personal weblog however I believe its too general and I need to deal with a variety of smaller topics. Being all issues to all of us is not all that its cracked as much as be

  5. Hi Maxwell,

    Very interesting Blog. I studied at St Pauls as well. Finished o levels in 1981. Do you still remember the part cemetery behind the school? I know it is all gone now, but am looking for photos of the same. Wondering if you could help.
    thanks,
    wayne

  6. Hi Maxwell – I think I was a couple of years ahead of you, but went to the same schools (St Philomena’s/Christ the King, St Paul’s). I do remember you playing at a fete though – and definitely had a great time with the Karachi music scene of those days! What an incredible time! Met the Fateh brothers a few times through my friend Dawood, and hung out with the InCrowd till they broke up, and have never forgotten the incredible drumming of Thaddeus Pinto at the Beach Luxury Hotel!. Brian D’Souza, Micky, Noel Ferreira were classmates and friends, but I’ve lost touch. So good to read your great article here!

  7. Max baby, how can I forget the good ole’ times of 2001, Horseshoe and Inter-Continental?
    I can fondly recall all those names you’ve mentioned. I pray all of the guys remain well.
    You never should have sold that black Les Paul; I still have mine from 1974.
    It is very sad to hear about your father; God bless him.
    Tahir Gul Hasan

Leave a Reply

