Tribute to Ricky Cumine ~ by Seville

A Tribute to Ricky Cumine by his wife Seville
© Legendary Musicians of Karachi

R1
The Vibrations ~ Seated below L-R: Ricky (RIP), Clyde, Gerard Vanderlowen.  Above L-R: Phorsu, Ian Birch, Alex Rodrigues (RIP)

My husband – Ricky – was a brilliant keyboardist and bass guitarist.  I met him in 1974 when he was playing with a band at Tarbela along with Nino Frances, Jeffrey Frances, Alan Vanderlowen and other musicians that I cannot recall.

R2
Glenn Boyle, Ricky (RIP), Seville, Francis (RIP) and Sabby

Ricky was originally from Karachi but later moved to Rawalpindi in 1980 to play at the Intercontinental Hotel on a contract basis along with musicians Ian Birch, Alex Rodrigues, Clyde Francis, Phorsu and Alam.  They were called the VIBRATIONS.

R4
Glenn Boyle holding Ricky’s famous Fender Precision bass

Alam was the original drummer of the band and after he left, Clyde Frances took over. Gerard Vanderlowen was their lead guitarist.

Disco night clubs were at its peak during the 70s and 80s and they were living it up in Karachi and Rawalpindi.

I hadn’t met Ricky since 1974 and after seeing him again in 1980, I knew he was the man I was going to Marry.  So I proudly say that I proposed to him!  And we were happily married for 27 years.  We had two beautiful children Latoya and Delton Cumine.

He was not just a dedicated musician but a brilliant father to his children and a warm, beautiful, gentle and caring husband.  I was spoilt considerably and cared so much by him.  He was also a wonderful chef and had a great passion for cooking.

Sadly, on October of 2007, I lost my Rick to dreadful cancer and life hasn’t been the same.  But with all his guidance and love – he taught me to be strong and to face this troubled and harsh world.

R5
Glenn Boyle, Ricky (RIP), Sabby and Francis (RIP)

I am proud to say I am so blessed to have his children who can today stand tall and confidently say that we had a Great Dad who was also a Great Musician!

Thank you for giving me a chance to say a little something about my sweetheart Rick❤️❤️

R3
Ricky with his buddy Nino Frances

Published by lmkonline

Founder and Editor Legendary Musicians of Karachi

Leave a comment